Writer’s Desk

Hello again, dreamers.  I hope those who follow my regular posts enjoyed my latest short story, The Rectifier.  More to come this week.  Here’s what’s in store:

Short Fiction Month 2017

My productive month continues.  As of today, I’m pleased to report that I have completed another of my recent short stories.  This one will be posted to my site on Friday, so keep an eye out.

This week, I intend to once again focus my efforts on my short fiction. I hope to finish at least two more short stories this week, all in preparation for a flurry of submissions at the end of the month.  Hopefully, I will soon be able to see my work in print at last.

Pathfinder

At last, the ideas are flowing again.

Throughout my writing and conceptualizing on Pathfinder and its planned sequels, I’ve felt largely directionless.  This, I’ve come to realize, is due to a single, glaring oversight.  Pathfinder, and indeed all subsequent sequels in the When We Left Earth series, have lacked a single, overarching theme.

Every great series of science fiction novels, indeed every great work of science fiction individually, has always been built around a central theme.  This theme serves as the basis for everything; it constitutes the primary source of conflict, frames the motivations of all the main characters, and dominates the conversation.  As much as I love the entire concept, I recently began to realize no such central theme existed in my series, until now.

Ironically, the theme I’ve sought was there all along, and I found it buried in my original character notes for my protagonist, Randall Holmes: terraforming.

While it’s hardly a controversial idea now, it’s easy to see how terraforming could, in the distant future, become a very polarizing topic.  The idea of transforming alien worlds, some with their own unique biospheres already in place, would raise serious ethical concerns.  In time, these concerns could call the very idea that the universe is ours to do with as we Please into question.

These ideas, and the associated concept of a sort of futuristic Manifest Destiny, will play a major role in Pathfinder and most of its sequels.  While this theme of a sort of space age conservationism, will be introduced in Pathfinder, the questions surrounding terraforming will be introduced in a short fiction piece called Carson.  This short story is one of several I intend to release with Pathfinder upon publication.

The Inheritors

This is a story that’s come a long way in a short time.  Originally little more than a curiosity for me, my concept work over the past week has been exciting.  With characters and a basic plot in place, The Inheritors has now become my biggest secondary project.

Much lies ahead, dreamers.  I’m excited, and I hope you are too.  Until next time, dare to dream.

Leave a Reply

