Writer’s Desk

Hello again, dreamers.  At last, I feel that I’m hitting my stride again, and I hope to follow one productive week with another.  Here’s what’s in store this week:

Short Fiction Month

My personal 2017 short fiction extravaganza continues this week. Thanks to my return to my daily sketches, I have a bevy of fresh material to choose from, and I can all but guarantee that this week’s story will be taken from my more recent body of work.

The Inheritors

As previously mentioned, this week my sketches yielded a surprising breakthrough in one of my most recent novel ideas.  While The Inheritors remains a project in its infancy, I’m excited to see where these fresh insights take me.

The most intriguing idea to come out of my recent short story, Rectifier, was the concept of the Machine War.  Central to The Inheritors is the concept of a philosophical divide between the artificial successors to humanity, stemming from a dispute over how humanity is viewed.  Some of the machines regard mankind with an almost religious reverence, while a vocal minority view humanity as inferior due to their organic nature.

The backstory now holds that, at some point after the machines achieved consciousness, this disputed led to a devastating war between the two factions.  As all of the machines involved were linked through the Rectifier’s computer network, the war was fought both in the physical world with conventional weapons and in the virtual world, where the two sides attempted to gain the upper hand by erasing the other’s programming.

This conflict had devastating consequences for both sides, as it resulted in the near-total destruction of the original network, as well as the loss of much of the network’s collective memory.  In effect, the war ultimately resulted in the destruction of history itself.

In the wake of this cataclysm, the survivors created a new network, the AllNet, which included a mutual destruction clause hard-wired into the base code, in the hopes of preventing further conflict.

More details will follow.  I’m certainly eager to see where all of this leads me

Pathfinder

While I likely won’t be doing much work on my novels until April, this week I intend to start revising my notes on Pathfinder.

As I’ve said, much of my writing since the first of the year felt hollow and directionless, resulting in my rapidly flitting from project to project, looking for something to inspire me.

After a great deal of soul-searching, I’ve decided to return to Pathfinder.  It’s an important starting point, but I believe a major rewrite is in order.  It won’t be easy; much of what I have will likely be heavily reworked, some of it may simply be deleted.  However, in the end I believe I will have a much stronger story to show for it.

I’m excited, dreamers.  I haven’t felt this good about my writing since I finished Wide Horizon.  Keep watching for my next short story on Friday, and as always, dare to dream.

Leave a Reply

