The Junk Drawer

Hello, dreamers.  It’s been a few weeks since I’ve posted, and for that I apologize.  However, after spending some much-needed time with my family, I have returned to my writing with fresh ideas and renewed vigor.

This week in the Junk Drawer, I hit upon a truly unexpected idea: a sequel to Wide Horizon.

I never intended to write a sequel to my debut novel, which is currently being edited, content to leave things as they were, ending things on an optimistic note.  However, as a new idea took shape in my mind, I decided to run with it.

The Altar of Dravus begins, much as Wide Horizon did, in a dark place.  Set several decades after the events of Wide Horizon, the novel follows the exploits of Karyn Pire, the daughter of Braylen Roads and Daena Symons.  By this point, Karyn (who is unaware of her parentage) is the captain of a salvage vessel, the Tantalus.

Ultimately, the story will tell of Karyn’s exploits aboard the Eightfold Path, while eventually revealing the fate of Braylen Roads.  I’ve only written a few pages, but I’m very happy with the story so far.

Over the past week, I’ve also written more of Ashes, and the story is really starting to take shape.  I’m starting to develop the characters, and I’ve continued to infuse the story with some of my most original concepts to date.

That’s all for this week, dreamers. Keep an eye out for the weekly update coming soon, and now more than ever, dare to dream.

Leave a Reply

