The Junk Drawer

Well!  Turns out the easiest way to encourage oneself to write is to swear off writing for a week.  What a week it has been!  Now, though, it’s time for the junk drawer.  Here’s what I did this week:

This week on Junk Drawer day, I split my time.  First, I put in a bit of work on Ashes.  They say that each day you should write until you surprise yourself.  Well, I dare say I’ve done that several times with this novel, young has it may be.  In but the matter of weeks since it has existed, I have managed roughly 1600 words.  Much of it is written in what I dare to call a stylistically unique format, as dialogue between two computer programs within the same system.  As such, it is simultaneously a conversation between two separate entities and between the computer and itself.  It’s been fun to write, and with the next chapter the format will change again.

I chose to work on Beyond (henceforth known as Breaker) more out of obligation than anything, yet in retrospect I’m certainly glad I did.  Several pages later, I finally have a clear idea of where this story is going, and am looking forward to fleshing out the concept.  Much remains to be done, and research will surely be the next step.

Well, that does it for this week, dreamers, but overall I couldn’t be happier with all I’ve accomplished in this final week of the year.  Until next year, dare to dream.

Leave a Reply

