Weekly Review

Hello, dreamers.  Now that I have launched my platform in earnest, I feel it’s time to resume a practice from my blogspot days.  This will be my first weekly review here on WordPress.  On a rather interesting note, this will also be my first weekly review composed on my phone.  How times have changed…

Despite having finished Wide Horizon months ago, My debut novel continues to command most of my attention.  The work of an aspiring novelist, it seems, is never done.

I am pleased to report that beta reading is nearly complete (a heartfelt thank you to all of my wonderful beta readers).  Upon completion this week, I will begin my final edits, followed by conversion to manuscript.  Then, the process of finding an agent and seeking publication will finally begin.  It’s hard to believe that, as of this month, it has been three years since I wrote the first chapter of Wide Horizon.  At the time, it was difficult to believe that I would ever reach this point, yet here I stand.  I would like to take the opportunity to thank all of my devoted dreamers, whose support has propelled me.  

Of course, as previously stated, the work of an aspiring novelist is never done.  As such, I have endeavored to resume writing of my second novel, Pathfinder.  Sadly, it’s been slow going of late.  Hopefully, the resumption of my daily sketches will help to spur my creativity.

It has certainly gone well thus far. I managed several great sketches this past week, one of which I’m already planning to expand into a short story.  For the first time, most of my sketches have taken on a science fiction nature, which has been gratifying.

In a further attempt to spur my writing, I have decided to take part in National Novel Writing Month.  In addition to encouraging myself to write, I also hope to use this event to connect with other writers in my area.

I believe that does it for this week. In the coming days, I plan to post a brief introduction to Pathfinder, for any readers who’ve yet to hear about it.  It’s an exciting project, to be sure, and one I’ve been working on for quite some time.

One final word: on a lark, I decided to submit a short story for publication to The Rush, a new online literature magazine.  So, as Dave Barry might say, “fingers crossed, knock on wood, and all that.”  That’s all for now.  Until next time, dare to dream. – MK

Leave a Reply

